About This Site

This is a site dedicated to the Arcadia collectible card game released by White Wolf in the mid '90s. This was a great game featuring a role playing aspect. The game is now out of print and some cards are extremely difficult to find.

Here you will find resources like card lists, maps, rules, alternate rules (including solo play), card evaluations, and strategy tips.

Search This Blog

Monday, June 18, 2012

Arcadia Unofficial FAQ

I'm putting together an unofficial FAQ to answer questions that aren't in the rules or seem like they might be in a "grey area." These are listed below. If you have comments about what I've put together so far, or have questions you'd like to submit, please enter them in the post comments. I'll post an "Official Unofficial" version of the FAQ in a couple of weeks after enough time has passed to solicit responses. Here's a great chance to get in on contributing to the Arcadia community...take advantage!

Q: When an ability, treasure, etc. provides a bonus to Might, does it also provide a bonus to Combat?

A: Yes and no. A bonus that increases Might also boosts a character's combat results, since characters use Might for Combat Tests. However, if the card that is giving the bonus states that it is for a Might Test, this does not affect Combat, since that is a different Test. For example, a Belt of Troll Strength gives a character +1 Might, which helps during combat. However, when the belt is exhausted, it gives a +3 bonus to a Might Test. It cannot be exhausted for a Combat Test. The card would have to state "exhaust to add 3 to any Might or Combat Test" to give a Combat Test bonus.

Q: Some cards that give bonuses say to use before the roll is made, and some state that it can be made after the roll. Yet other cards don't specify whether it must be used before or after. So which is it?

A: This is simply an inconsistency in card design. By default, a card that states it gives you a bonus doesn't have a condition specified, so it would work before or after the roll (why you would want to apply it before the roll is somewhat baffling). A card that states it must be done before the roll is putting a restriction or condition on its use; it is a gamble whether or not it would actually be needed. So if a card doesn't have this restriction, assume it can be applied after the roll.

Q: How do you "buy off" a Flaw?

A: Each flaw has a bonus point rating associated with it. When spending XP, instead of acquiring a Merit, you pay the bonus point rating of the Flaw and deduct it from your XP. For example, Pansy has a bonus point rating of 1; if you pay 1 XP, you may discard Pansy.

Q: How do I change a Waylay from a Savvy Test to a Combat Test?

A: First, the Waylay must be able to be changed to a Combat Test; if it does not have Combat rating, you cannot change it. Second, you must have a Merit that allows you to change from one Test to another. For example, Bully allows you to change a Savvy Waylay to a Combat Waylay.

Q: What happens if I don't recover a Treasure before I complete the Quest?

A: As long as recovering the Treasure is not a requirement specifically listed on the Quest, there is no penalty for not recovering Treasure. The only downside is that you are not able to use the benefits of the Treasure during the Quest.

Q: I have a Merit that allows me to move two Leagues per turn. How does that work, exactly?

A: In addition to following the conditions on the Merit card, you still must pass any Exit and Entry Trials listed on the Leagues, unless the Merit states otherwise. If you fail an Exit Trial on the first League or an Entry Trial on the second, the extra movement is cancelled and you must stay on the first League. Also, if there is a Waylay on the first League, you may not bypass it and move to the second League unless the Merit states otherwise. Encountering a Waylay on the first League cancels the movement to the second League.

Q: The rules state that a Trial is a special kind of Test. So does a Merit that works on, say, a Might Test also work on a Might Trial?

A: Though a Trial is a special kind of Test, there is a clear distinction in card text between Tests and Trials. If the Merit states it works for Tests, it works only for Tests. The card must state it works for both Tests and Trial to be used for both. For example, Persuasive states "+1 vs. Savvy Trials. Exhaust to retest a Savvy Test." That means you get +1 vs. Savvy Trial but do not get +1 vs. Savvy Tests; it also means you may exhaust Persuasive to retest a Savvy Test, but you may not retest a Savvy Trial. In contrast, the Merit Swamp Rat states "Add 1 to your score against Tests and Trials on Swamp Leagues." That means you get +1 for both Tests and Trials.

Q: Can I move diagonally?

A: The rules state that when moving, you must move into an adjacent League. Therefore you cannot move diagonally unless a card specifically states that you can.

No comments: