About This Site

This is a site dedicated to the Arcadia collectible card game released by White Wolf in the mid '90s. This was a great game featuring a role playing aspect. The game is now out of print and some cards are extremely difficult to find.

Here you will find resources like card lists, maps, rules, alternate rules (including solo play), card evaluations, and strategy tips.

Search This Blog

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

More Proposed Questions for the FAQ

Q: Can a character have more than one of the same type of Treasure?

A: A character may only use 1 Armor, 1 Weapon, and 1 Mount unless card text states otherwise. You can carry more than 1 Weapon, but only 1 may give bonuses or be exhausted (again unless card text states otherwise). The player must state at the beginning of the Quest which Weapon is to be used. Other types of Treasure (such as 2 Wands or 2 Boots) are permitted.

Q: Can I discard a card during a Quest?

A: Not specifically. You cannot discard or buy off a flaw during a Quest, and you may not discard a Treasure. Being able to discard a Treasure would allow you to, for instance, discard exhausted Armor to pick up different, unexhausted Armor. This would circumvent the mechanics of resting, as well as the "1 type of Treasure rule" listed above. Some cards do have text that allow you to discard. For instance, Tax Collector gives you the option to discard a Bag of Gold to pass the Waylay.

Q: Can an exhausted item be used to fulfill Waylay or Quest requirements?

A: Yes. Using the cards in the previous question as an example, if you failed a Waylay and exhausted a Bag of Gold, then came up against Tax Collector, you could pay using the exhausted Bag of Gold. Exhausted cards prevent you from benefitting from card effects listed on the text of the card; the fact that the card is exhausted does not affect your ability to discard the card to fulfill a Waylay or Quest requirement.

Q: If I am forced to re-test or re-roll due to a card effect, does my opponent re-roll as well?

A: For opposed Tests, if the card text says re-roll, only you or your opponent roll (based on the card text); if the card text says re-test, both players roll again. For Trials, which are unopposed, only you re-roll.

Q: What is the difference between a tie and a loss when facing a Waylay?

A: In either case, you may stay to fight again or retreat. The difference is, if you lose, you must exhaust a Merit. You do not have to exhaust a Merit in the case of a tie.

Q: If I failed to defeat a Waylay and there is an Exit Trial to leave the League, do I have to face the Exit Trial to retreat? If I fail that, will I have to face the Waylay again because I stayed on the space?

A: The sequence of play is: you declare a move, test against any League Trials, actually move, then test against Waylays. Movement only occurs at the beginning of your turn. Therefore, after you've faced a Waylay, movement cannot occur. Retreating is a condition of the Waylay and is not actual movement, so you would not face League Trials if you chose to retreat.

No comments: